Dr Rajendra Prasad Medha Chatravriti Announced for Toppers in Bihar

December 4, 2017 | Last Modified: December 4, 2017 at 2:10 pm

On the celebration of ‘Medha Diwas’ function, The state government Bihar has announced a scholarship scheme named ‘Desh Ratna Dr Rajendra Prasad Medha Chatravriti’ to toppers in Bihar. Students who will top in Bihar School Examination Board examination will be scholar-ed.

Scholarship Scheme for Toppers in Bihar – Medha Chatravriti Yojana

The function of Medha Diwas was celebrated to mark the 133rd birth anniversary of first President Dr Rajendra Prasad. During the celebration, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar announced the scheme Desh Ratna Dr Rajendra Prasad Medha Chatravriti Yojana for the meritorious students.

The CM sais that the state government has done a lot to provide equal opportunities to girls. Enrolment of girls in Class IX is almost at par with the boys. “When the bicycle scheme was launched in 2006, only 1.7 lakh girls were enrolled in Class IX at government schools in the state. The figure is 9 lakh today, almost to the boys,” he said.

However, he admitted that Bihar still lags behind in education system and there is ample scope for improvement. “The state government earmarks substantial amount of budget on education, but it’s still insufficient,” he said.

The CM also felicitated the 44 meritorious students with cash prize along with laptop and kindle e-reader. DMs of Aurangabad, Katihar, Kaimur, Gopalganj, Jamui, Nalanda, Patna, West Champaran, Begusarai and Madhepura were also felicitated for conducting free and fair examinations.

Chief secretary Anjani Kumar Singh, BSEB chairman Anand Kishor, state education minister Krishnanandan Prasad Verma, principal secretary R K Mahajan, secretary RL Chongthu and other dignitaries were also present on this occasion.